Technical Definitions Abbreviations

A-Ampere

A measurement of the current flow. One ampere is equal to the electrical force of one Volt acting across the resistance of one Ohm.

AC

Electricity as produced by the electrical components (utility). The unique characteristics of this form of electricity is that it reverses direction at regular intervals. For example, 120 V AC 60 Hz power reverses flow 60 times a second, hence the rating 60 Hz (cycles). In Europe is typically 50 Hz, in the USA, parts of South America and the Caribbean 60 Hz(120 volt current).

Ampere Hour (AH)

One amp of electrical current flowing for one hour.

Expresses the relationship between current (A) and time (Ohms law A = VR). AH is the measurement for battery capacity.

AGT -Advanced Generator Technology

All Fischer Panda generators, which are constructed as permanent electro-magnetic generators, are made from ceramic “Hightech” electro magnetic materials. These materials are also known as “rare earth”. Fischer Panda, especially uses the high quality material Niodym. The AGT generators are used as battery charging generators or as propulsion generators.

AGT-DDC - Direct-Direct Current

Panda AGT generator high frequency permanent electromagnetic synchronous generator (12 - 24 pole). This type of generator is especially effective. AC is transformed to DC by means of an especially effective rectifier. The aggregate is especially effective for charging batteries.

AGT-DE - Diesel Electric

This version of the AGT Generator version supplies a 3-phase output voltage (without diodes) and is used in the variable speed operation for supplying diesel-electric drives.

AGT-HD AGT Heavy Duty

The AGT-HD supplies direct voltage in the same way as the AGT-DC generators. An enhanced cooling system, external diodes and the ability to restrict maximum performance makes these generators suitable for driving DC motors (e.g. electro motors with heavy loads) over extended periods of time.

ASB-Automatic Start Booster

An electronically controlled high starting current in the control box. Suitable for all Panda asynchronous generators, to compensate the high starting current of electric motors (i.e air conditioning units etc). ASB should always be chosen if a generator is to be driven by an inductive load (electric motors, air-conditioning units etc). All generators from Panda 8000 up to Panda 14.000 are fitted, as a rule, with ASB as standard.

AGT-IDC - Indirect-Direct Current

Panda AGT Generator, which is designed like the AGTDDC to load the battery bank. In this version the rectifier is in a seperate box. these rar configuration is used if the battery bank is far away fron the generator (more then 4- 6m). The AC Power will be delivered from the generator to the rectifier which will load the battery bank.

Current

The amount of electrical charge. The flowing current measured in amperes.

Consumer

All devices that require electricity.

DAPS-DC-AC-Power-System

The very efficient power supply system is battery supported. he generator supplies direct current to charge the batteries, whilst the accumulative current is produced via an inverter. The generator runs intermittently and charges the battery, and at the same time the inverter is provided with power.

DC

Term for DC (direct current). DC is generated by alternators and battery charging devices or Panda AGT generators with auxiliary rectifier, or DC is drawn from a battery.

DZ

Fischer Panda abbreviation for Deutz motors.

EK: Single Circuit Cooling

Cooling system for generator and motor. Both components are either cooled by seawater (marine generators) or by cooling liquid  (standard for vehicle / stationary generators)

FAR

Fischer Panda abbreviation for Farymann motors.

FPB

Fischer Panda breakaway secures anti vibration buffer

FC - Freshwater Cooling

Motor and generator are cooled with freshwater by the heat exchanger. This cooling version avoids galvanic corrosion and is standard for Panda 4500 FCB and from Panda 5000 LPE / AGT upwards (see ZK).

HTG

High Performance Alternator

HTL

HTG inverter for battery charge

HTL-G

Battery charging converter for AGT-DE generators

 

Hz - Hertz

Hertz denotes the frequency within one second. The frequency is determined by the number of periods in which flow of current changes. The frequency in Europe is normally 50 Hz, the USA is 60 Hz.

JD

Fischer Panda abbreviation for John Deere motors.

KUB / KU

Fischer Panda abbreviation for Kubota motor.

kVA - Kilovolt Ampere

Unit for apparent power, reactive current. The value is the combination of voltage and current.

kW - Kilowatt

Physical unit for real output. The value is the combination of voltage and current. It concerns the effective electrical performance available. So-called apparent power which is affected reactive current is not taken into consideration.

kW/h - Kilowatt hour

One kW per hour.

LED - Light Emitting Diode

Very small electrical lamp with an extremely low power consumption. It is used, in order to represent the operating systems on displays, remote control panels or other indicators.

LK

The abbreviation used by Fischer Panda for all systems that use air-cooling (contrary to water-cooling).

LP

Low Profile (special low style).

MB

Term used for MTU motors.

ND

Generator without VCS voltage regulation system.

NE

Generator with VCS voltage regulation sytem.

Overload

A consumer attached to an inverter or generator, which requires too much current thereby overloads the device. Panda generators are internally protected against overloading.

PK

Fischer Panda abbreviation for Perkins motors.

PM - Permanent Magnetic Synchronous Generator

A synchronous generator. An electrical field is achieved by permanent electro magnets. These generators are, as a rule, high pole version, i.e 12 to 24 poles, the frequency is 6 - 12 times higher than 2 pole standard generators of the same speed. (Frequency is 3000 rpm, 6 pole: 300 Hz, 24 pole: 1500 Hz). With this “High frequency technology” various additional components are more efficient than conventional generators. In view of the size and weight, a PM generator is up to 60 % larger and 40% lighter than a standard asynchronous generator.

The PM technology is also used for the Fischer Panda electric drive motors.

PMS - Panda Marine Standard

This is the term used for standard marine generators.

PMS-HD-Panda Marine Standard Heavy Duty

Marine generators with an operating speed of 1500 or 1800 rpm.

PMGi - Permanent Magnet Generator Inverter

Fischer Panda 4KW inverter used f.e. with the Panda 4000i

PSA - Panda Standard Asynchronous Generator

An extremely robust generator, with many positive features, that has been developed by Fischer Panda. Extremely stable temperature because of effective watercooling, self excitating because of external capacitors, diodes that do not revolve, no rotor windings, all windings are externally fitted to the stator and can therefore be cooled perfectly by means of an external cooling jacket, voltage stability by means of “VCS”, noise depression, excellent sinus curve and therefore suitable for all charging devices, closed construction gives a high level of protection. The PSA generators in conjunction with the ASB-Startbooster system supply an especially high starting current for starting electric motors (see ASB).

PVK-U-Panda Vehicle Compact Underbody

A sound-proof capsule for underbody assembly is supplied, that especially stands out because of its compact form.

PVK-UK

Extremly compact and quiet generators for vehicles which features an integrated radiator. Siutable for mounting externally beneath vehicles.

PVMV-N-Panda Vehicle Module Vertical

Panda vehicle generator, assembled in module form with vertically mounted water-cooled pre-silencer and with integrated, vertically  mounted, rear silencer.

PVM-NE

Vehicle generator with sound insolation capsule and external mounted main silencer. Siutable for internal installation

SC - Seawater Cooling

Generator and engine are directly cooled by seawater. This cooling system is very efficient, as the very cold seawater can directly be used for the cooling of the generator. However, in warmer river areas this cooling sytem could lead to faster corrosion.

Sacrificial Anode

Metal component with negative electrical potential (aluminium, magnesium etc), which is mounted on.

Sound Insulation Capsule 3D

Standard sound-insulation capsule with 3 layered sound-insulation material, total thickness of the sound insulation material: 25mm.

Sound Insulation Capsule 4DS

Special version for all sound-insulation capsules that place great demands on the thickness of the soundinsulation material 4 layers, thickness approx. 40 mm.

Sound Insulation Capsule 6DS

Special version for sound insulation capsules that suffices to meet the greatest demands on the sound-insulation. Sound insulation material, 6 layers, total thickness approx. 60 mm.

Sound Insulation Capsule GFK

Sound insulation capsule GFK version (reinforced glassfibre polyester) hand laminated.

Sound Insulation Capsule MPL

Sound insulation capsule, made from stainless steel, painted sheet steel or aluminium.

Sinus Wave

The output wave of an electrical alternating current. An optimum sinus curve is shown by a smooth wave going above and below zero. The Panda asynchronous generators produce a sinus wave with an almost perfect wave (equates the current drawn from the public electricity network)

SC - Seawater-cooling

Direct cooling system, by which means the generator and the motor are cooled direct by seawater. Cooling of the SK cooling  system is essentially more effective, since colder seawater is used to directly cool the generator.

VCS - Voltage Control System

Regulates the speed of the motor and also the generator voltage. The speed of the motor is at the lowest point of tolerance. The speed is adjusted to the highest point of tolerance as performance decreases. This enables a voltage tolerance up to ± 3 volts. Even with very high load alternation, the adjustment time amounts to less than 1.2 seconds. Voltage peaks are limited to a very short period. In the case of VCS, the frequency has a tolerance of ± 2 Hz.

W - Watt

Measuring unit for electrical performance. Product of current and voltage.

Wh - Watt/hour

Measuring unit for electrical performance per hour.

Whisperprop

Synonym for the Diesel-electric Drive Systems from Fischer Panda. The main components are the Panda Generator, the PM  Electromotor, a motor controller and include a DC-AC power system (if applicable).

YA

Fischer Panda abbreviation for Yanmar motors.

ZK - Dual circulation cooling

Cooling system for generator or motor, by which an internal cooling system (freshwater cooling) is cooled by an external cooling system (seawater cooling) with the assistance of a heat exchanger. In the case of twin circulation cooling, the generator and motor are cooled with freshwater. The seawater only comes in contact with the heat exchanger and the exhaust supports. As a rule, the heat exchanger is made from high quality material (copper/nickel - CuNi10Fe) (see FC).

 

Technical Definitions and Abbreviations.R03 3.9.08

 

Technische Begriffe AbkürzungenTechnical Definitions Abbreviations

Technische Begriffe Abkürzungen

Technische Begriffe und Abkürzungen

im Zusammenhang mit Generatoren und Bordstromsystem-Produkten

A - Ampere

Maßeinheit für elektrischen Stromfluß (Stromstärke). Ein Ampere ist der Stromfluß bei einer Spannung von einem Volt und einem Widerstand von einem Ohm.

AC

Bezeichnung für Wechselstrom (alternator currency). Wechselstrom ist eine Form der Elektrizität, in der sich die Stromflußrichtung in regelmäßigen Intervallen ändert. In Europa ist eine Frequenz von 50 Hz (bei einer Spannung von 230 Volt) typisch und in den USA eine Frequenz von 60 Hz (bei einer Spannung von 120 Volt).

Ah - Amperestunde

Stromfluß von einem Ampere für eine Stunde. Ah wird als Maßeinheit der Batteriekapazität verwendet.

AGT - Advanced Generator Technology

Bei Fischer Panda werden alle Generatoren, die als Permanentmagnet-Synchrongeneratoren gebaut werden, mit keramischen “Hightec”-Magnetmaterialien ausgestattet. Diese Materialien werden auch “seltene Erden” genannt. Fischer Panda verwendet insbesondere den hochwertigen Werkstoff Niodym. Die AGT Generatoren werden als Batterielade- oder Antriebsgeneratoren verwendet.

AGT-DDC - Direct-Direct Current

Panda AGT Generator als hochpoliger Permanetmagnet- Synchrongenerator (12 – 24 polig). Dieser Generatortyp ist besonders effektiv. Durch einen ebenfalls besonders effektiven Gleichrichter wird die Wechselspannung in Gleichspannung umgewandelt. Das Aggregat dient insbesondere zum Laden von Batterien. Der Gleichricher befindet sich direkt auf dem Generator.

AGT-DE(Diesel Elektrik)

Diese Ausführung der AGT-Generatoren liefert eine 3-phasige Ausgangsspannung (keine Dioden) und wird im drehzahl-variablen Betrieb für die Energieversorgung von diesel-elektrischen Antrieben eingesetzt.

AGT-HD - AGT Heavy Duty

Die AGT-HD Generatoren liefern wie die AGT-DC Generatoren eine Gleichspannung. Aufgrund ihres verstärkten Kühlsystems, der externen Dioden und der Begrenzung auf die Dauerleistung können diese auch für Gleichstromantriebe (z.B. Antrieb von  elektromotoren im Schwerlastbereich) über einen längeren Zeitraum verwendet werden.

AGT-IDC - Indirect -Direct Current

Panda AGT Generator, welcher wie der AGT-DDC Generator, zum laden der Batterien zur verfügung steht. Der Gleichrichter befindet sich hierbei in einer seperaten Box. Diese seltene indirekte Ausführung kommt zum Einsatz, wenn der Generator von der  Batteriebank weit entfernt steht (mehr als 4-6m). Dann wird ein Wechselstrom vom Generator zur Gleichricherbox geliefert, welche nahe bei der Batteriebank steht.

ASB - Automatic Start Booster

In der AC Kontrollbox integrierte, elektronisch gesteuerte Anlaufstromverstärkung, geeignet für alle Panda Asynchrongeneratoren, um den hohen Anlaufstrom bei Elektromotoren (z.B. Klimaanlagen etc.) zu kompensieren. Die ASB Ausstattung sollte immer gewählt werden, wenn ein Generator mit induktiver Last betrieben wird (Elektromotoren, Klimaanlagen usw.). Alle Generatoren vom Panda 8000 bis Panda 14.000 sind in der Regel serienmäßig mit einer ASB Schaltung ausgestattet.

DAPS - DC-AC-Power-System

Das äußerst effektive Stromversorgungssystem arbeitet batteriegestützt. Der Generator liefert Gleichspannung zum Laden der Batterien, während die Wechselspannung über einen Wechselrichter bereitgestellt wird. Der Generator läuft im Intervall-Betrieb und lädt die Batterie, während der Wechselrichter direkt versorgt wird.

DC - Direct Current

Bezeichnung für Gleichstrom (direct current). Gleichstrom wird durch Lichtmaschinen und Batterieladegeräte oder durch Panda AGT-Generatoren mit nachgeschaltetem Gleichrichter erzeugt bzw. aus einer Batterie entnommen.

DZ

Kurzbezeichnung für Deutz-Motoren.

EK: Einkreiskühlung

Kühlsystem für Generator und Motor, bei dem beide Komponenten entweder mit Seewasser (Marinegenerator) oder Kühlflüssigkeit (Standard bei Fahrzeug-/Stationärgeneratoren) gekühlt werden.

FAR

Kurzbezeichnung von Fischer Panda für Farymann Motoren.

FC: Frischwasserkühlung

Zweikreissystem im Marinebereich, bei dem Motor und Generator über einen Wärmetauscher mit Frischwasser gekühlt werden. Eine Korrosion wird vermieden. Diese Kühlart ist Standard für Panda 4500 FCB und ab Panda 5000 LPE / AGT (siehe auch ZK).

FPB

Bezeichnet die abreißsicheren Fischer Panda Gummischwingmetalle

HTG

Hochleistungslichtmaschine

HTL

Ladekonverter für HTG

HTL-G

Ladekonverter für AGT-DE Generatoren

Hz - Hertz

Hertz bezeichnet die Frequenz innerhalb einer

Sekunde. Als Frequenz wird die Anzahl der Perioden

bezeichnet, in der sich die Stromflußrichtung ändert. Die

Frequenz in Europa beträgt üblicherweise 50 Hz, in den

USA 60 Hz.

JD

Bezeichnung für John Deere Motoren.

KUB bzw. KU

Kurzbezeichung von Fischer Panda für Kubota Motor.

kVA - Kilovolt Ampere

Einheit für die elektrische Scheinleistung, wobei auch

ein Blindstrom mit einbezogen ist. Der Wert wird durch

das Produkt von Spannung und dem Strom ermittelt.

kW - Kilowatt

Physikalische Einheit für die elektrische Wirkleistung.

Der Wert wird durch das Produkt von Spannung und Strom ermittelt. Es handelt sich um die effektiv zur Verfügung stehende elektrische Leistung, bei der die sogenannte Scheinleistung, die durch den zusätzlichen Blindstrom beeinflußt wird, nicht berücksichtigt ist.

kW/h - Kilowattstunde

Eine kW elektrische Wirkleistung wird über eine Stunde verbraucht.

LED - Light Emitting Diode

Sehr kleine elektrische Lampe, die sich durch einen extrem niedrigen Stromverbrauch auszeichnet. Sie wird sehr gerne gebraucht, um auf Anzeigen, den Fernbedienpanelen u.ä. die Betriebssysteme darzustellen.

LK

Die Abkürzung wird von Fischer Panda für die Luftkühlungssysteme  (im Gegensatz zur Wasserkühlung) gewählt.

LP

Low Profile (besonders niedrige Ausführung).

MB

Bezeichnung für Mercedes Benz Motoren.

ND

Bezeichnung für Generatoen ohne VCS-Spannungsregelung

NE

Bezeichnung für Generatoren mit VCS-Spannungsregelung

Opferanode

Metallbauteil mit negativem elektrischen Potential (Aluminium, Magnesium etc.), das in einem seewasserführenden

System an Stellen montiert ist, bei dem das Risiko einer elektrolytischen Korrosion besteht (daher „Opferanode“ genannt).

PK

Bezeichnung für Perkins-Motoren.

PM - Permanentmagnet-Synchrongenerator

Ein Synchrongenerator, dessen Feld durch Permanentmagneten erreicht wird. Von Fischer Panda werden diese Generatoren in der Regel sehr hochpolig ausgeführt, d.h. 12- bis 24-polig, wobei die Frequenz entsprechend 6 – 12 Mal höher ist als bei einem 2-poligen Standardgenerator mit gleicher Drehzahl. (Frequenz bei 3000 UpM, 6-polig: 300 Hz, 24-polig: 1500 Hz.). Mit dieser "Hochfrequenztechnologie" können verschiedene Zusatzbauteile wesentlich effizienter betrieben werden als mit konventionellen Generatoren. Ein PM-Generator ist hinsichtlich Größe und Gewicht bis zu 60 % kleiner und bis zu 40 % leichter als ein Standard-Asynchronoder– Synchrongenerator. Die Fischer Panda Elektroantriebsmotoren sind ebenfalls in der PM-Technik ausgeführt.

PMGI - Permanent Magnet Generator Inverter

Bezeichnet den Fischer Panda 4KW Inverter(u.a. in Verbindung mit dem Panda 4000i)

PMS - Panda Marine Standard

Mit dieser Bezeichnung wird die Standardausführung der Marinegeneratoren ausgewiesen.

PMS-HD - Panda Marine Standard Heavy Duty

Marine Aggregate mit 1.500 bzw. 1.800 UpM Betriebsdrehzahl.

PSA - Panda Standard Asynchron

Ein von Fischer Panda zur Perfektion entwickelter äußerst robuster Generator mit vielen sehr positiven Eigenschaften.  Insbesondere: äußerst temperatursicher durch die besonders effektive Wasserkühlung, selbsterregt über externe Kondensatoren, keine rotierenden Dioden, keine Wicklungen auf dem Rotor, alle Wicklungen liegen außen auf dem Stator und können deshalb durch einen äußeren Kühlmantel perfekt gekühlt werden, spannungsstabilisiert über “VCS”, funkentstört, erstklassige Sinuskurve und damit auch geeignet für alle Ladegeräte, hoher Schutzgrad durch geschlossene Bauweise. Die PSA-Generatoren zeichnen sich in Verbindung mit dem ASB-Startbooster- System auch dadurch aus, daß sie einen besonders hohen Anlaufstrom zum Start von  Elektromotoren liefern (siehe ASB).

PVK-U - Panda Vehicle Kompakt Unterflur

Für diese Generatoren wird eine selbsttragende Schalldämmkapsel für Unterflurmontage geliefert, die sich durch eine besonders kompakte Bauform auszeichnet.

 

PVK-UK - Panda Vehicle Kompakt Unterflur Kühler

Für diese Generatoren wird eine selbsttragende Schalldämmkapsel für Unterflurmontage geliefert, die sich durch eine besonders kompakte Bauform auszeichnet. Ein Kühler ist in das System integriert.

PVM-NE - Panda Vehicle Modular Nachschalldämpfer external Exhaust

Panda Fahrzeuggenerator, aufgebaut im Modulsystem mit trockenem vertikalen Nachschalldämpfer ausserhalb der Kapsel. Aufgrund der Wärmeentwicklung nur für gut belüftete Räume vorgesehen.

PVMV-N - Panda Vehicle Module Vertical

Panda Fahrzeuggenerator, aufgebaut im Modulsystem mit vertikal angeordnetem wassergekühlten Vorschalldämpfer und integriertem, ebenfalls vertikal angeordnetem Nachschalldämpfer.

RD - Radiator Dachmontage

Kühler des Frischwasserkreislaufes - Montage auf dem Fahrzeugdach.

RV - Radiator Vertikal/Unterflur

Kühler des Frischwasserkreislaufes - Vertikale Montage.

Schalldämmkapsel 3D

Schalldämmkapsel in der Standardausführung mit 3- lagigem Schalldämmaterial, Gesamtdicke des Schalldämmmaterials: 25 mm.

Schalldämmkapsel 4DS

Schalldämmkapsel in Sonderausführung für höhere Ansprüche; 4-lagiges Schalldämmmaterial, Gesamtdicke ca. 40 mm.

Schalldämmkapsel 6 DS

Schalldämmkapsel in Sonderausführung für höchste Ansprüche; 6-lagiges Schalldämmmaterial, Gesamtdicke ca. 60 mm.

Schalldämmkapsel GFK

Schalldämmkapsel in GFK-Ausführung (glasfaserverstärktes Polyester), handlaminiert.

Schalldämmkapsel MPL

Schalldämmkapsel aus Edelstahlblech, lackiertem Stahlblech bzw. Aluminiumblech.

Sinuswelle

Die Ausgangswellenform eines elektrischen Wechselstroms. Eine optimale Sinuskurve zeichnet sich durch einen gleichmäßigen Wellenverlauf aus, der über und unter dem Nullpunkt in einer definierten Kurve verläuft. Die Panda Asynchrongeneratoren erzeugen eine Sinuswelle mit nahezu optimalen Verlauf (entspricht dem Strom aus einem öffentlichen Netz).

SC - Seewasserkühlung

Direktes Kühlsystem, bei dem Generator und Motor direkt mit Seewasser gekühlt werden. Bei dem SC-Kühlsystem ist die Kühlung sehr effektiv, da das kältere Seewasser direkt zur Kühlung des Generators verwendet wird. Jedoch besteht bei warmen Gewässern die Gefahr der schnelleren Korrosion.

Strom

Menge der elektrischen Ladung. Der geflossene Strom wird in Ampere gemessen.

Überlast

Überlast entsteht, wenn ein an einem Wechselrichter oder Generator angeschlossener Verbraucher zuviel Strom benötigt. Panda Generatoren sind gegen Überlast intern geschützt.

Verbraucher

Alle Geräte, die Elektrizität benötigen.

V - Volt

Die Maßeinheit für das elektrische Potential (Spannung).

VCS - Voltage Control System

Regelt die Drehzahl des Motors und dadurch auch die Generatorspannung. Bei geringer Leistung liegt die Drehzahl des Motors am  unteren Punkt der Toleranz. Mit steigender Leistungsabnahme wird die Drehzahl bis zum oberen Punkt der Toleranz geregelt.  Dadurch kann eine Spannungstoleranz bis zu ± 3 Volt erreicht werden. Auch bei sehr hohem Lastwechseln beträgt die Regelzeit weniger als 1,2 Sekunden. Damit sind selbst Spannungsspitzen auf eine sehr kurze Zeit begrenzt. Bei der VCS-Regelung bewegt sich die Frequenz mit einer Toleranz von ± 2 Hz.

W - Watt

Maßeinheit für elektrische Leistung (Produkt aus Strom und Spannung).

Wh - Wattstunden

Meßeinheit für elektrische Leistung bezogen auf eine Stunde.

YA

Bezeichnung für Yanmar-Motoren.

Whisperprop

Synonym für das Diesel-Elektrische Antriebssystem von Fischer Panda. Die wesentlichen Komponenten sind der AGT-DE Generator, der PM-Elektromotor, ein Motorsteuergerät und ggf. ein DC-AC Powersystem.

ZK - Zweikreiskühlung

Kühlsystem für Generator bzw. Motor, bei dem ein interner Kühlkreis (Süßwasser) über einen externen Kühlkreis (Seewasser) mit Hilfe eines Wärmetauschers gekühlt wird. Bei Aggregaten mit doppelter Zweikreiskühlung sind Generator und Motor Süßwasser gekühlt.

Das Seewasser kommt nur mit dem Wärmetauscher und dem Abgasstutzen in Berührung. Der Wärmetauscher wird in der Regel aus besonders hochwertigem  Material (Kupfernickel – CuNi10Fe) angefertigt (siehe auch FC).

 

10.2.10 Technische Begriffe und Abkürzungen.R04

Technische Begriffe AbkürzungenTechnical Definitions Abbreviations